SAG and Oscar – Connections

Please be aware that the award year refers to the year the SAG Awards and Oscars ceremony was held and not the year the film was released.

SAG Awards has been handed out since 1995, with the ensemble category introduced in 1996 and the stunt categories introduced in 2008.

Click here to see overall SAG stats and trivia

Best Picture Oscar winners who was not nominated for SAG Ensemble

Braveheart (1996)
The Shape of Water (2018)
Green Book (2019)
Nomadland (2021)

Best Actor Oscar winners who did not win SAG for the same part

Russel Crowe (Gladiator) – 2001*
Denzel Washington (Training Day) – 2002
Adrian Brody (The Pianist) – 2003
Sean Penn (Mystic River) – 2004
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea) – 2017
Anthony Hopkins (The Father) – 2021

*Benicio Del Toro (Traffic) won Best Actor at SAG, but won Best Supporting Actor at the Oscars.

Best Actress Oscar winners who did not win SAG for the same part

Jessica Lange (Blue Sky) – 1995
Hillary Swank (Boys Don’t Cry) – 2000
Nicole Kidman (The Hours) – 2003
Marion Cotillard (La Vie en Rose) – 2008
Meryl Streep (The Iron Lady) – 2012
Olivia Colman (The Favourite) – 2019
Frances McDormand (Nomadland) – 2021

Best Supporting Actor Oscar winners who did not win SAG for the same part

Kevin Spacey (The Usual Suspects) – 1996
James Coburn (Affliction) – 1999
Jim Broadbent (Iris) – 2002
Chris Cooper (Adaptation.) – 2003
George Clooney (Syriana) – 2006
Alan Arkin (Little Miss Sunshine) – 2007
Tilda Swinton (Michael Clayton) – 2008
Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained) – 2013*
Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies) – 2016**

*Christoph Waltz was not nominated for SAG or Critics Choice, but he won both BAFTA and Golden Globe. 
**Idris Elba (Beasts of No Nation) won SAG, but was not nominated for Oscar.

Best Supporting Actress Oscar winners who did not win SAG for the same part

Mira Sorvino (Mighty Aphrodite) – 1996
Juliette Binoche (The English Patient) – 1997
Judi Dench (Shakespeare in Love) – 1999
Marcia Gay Harden (Pollock) – 2001*
Jennifer Connelly (A Beautiful Mind) – 2002**
Penelope Cruz (Vicky Christina Barcelona) – 2009***
Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk) – 2019****

* Marcia Gay Harden was not nominated for SAG, BAFTA, Golden Globes or Critics Choice
** Jennifer Connelly was nominated in the lead category at SAG
***Kate Winslet (The Reader) won SAG, but was in the lead category at the Oscars (where she also won). Cruz was the only Oscar nominee to win one of the big precursor awards (BAFTA). The rest was won by Winslet.
**** Regina King was not nominated for SAG or BAFTA

Years where all four acting categories had the same nominees at both SAG and Oscar

This has never happened although 3 of the categories matched in both 2007 and 2010

Sponsored content: